• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest

'Social Network' Gets Palm Springs Ensemble Award

Justin Timberlake, Jesse Eisenberg, and Andrew Garfield
Sony Pictures

The Palm Springs International Film Festival announced today that The Social Network will receive the 2011 Ensemble Performance Award at the Awards Gala on Jan. 8.

Festival chairman Harold Matzner said, “Every so often, a movie comes along with performances that set the standard for a generation of actors. The Social Network combines a theme that defines our time with performances that redefine acting for the screen. The Social Network is important "not because it is about this current moment in history, but because the human motivations of the characters make it a parable for this or any age."

Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, Armie Hammer and Rooney Mara are expected to attend to accept the award, presented by director David Fincher.

The awards gala will kick off the 2011 awards season on Saturday, Jan. 8 at the Palm Springs Convention Center and will be hosted by Entertainment Tonight’s Mary Hart. Previously announced honorees include Javier Bardem, Robert Duvall, Colin Firth, Jennifer Lawrence, Carey Mulligan, Natalie Portman, David O. Russell and Diane Warren.  The festival runs Jan. 6-17. 

Lately, The Social Network has won:

Best picture; New York Film Critics Circle, Los Angeles Film Critics Association and more than 20 critics' groups.

Four National Board of Review awards, including best picture, director and actor.

Six Golden Globe noms, including best picture, director, screenplay, actor, supporting actor and original score.

Two Screen Actors Guild Awards for ensemble and lead actor.

Nine Broadcast Film Critics Association awards.