Sony Options Hot YA Novel 'This Savage Song' (Exclusive)

The novel — set in a dark dystopian urban world where monsters are real — debuted at No. 1 on the New York Times' YA best-seller list.
Courtesy of Greenwillow Books

Sony Pictures has picked up film rights to the New York Times best-selling YA novel This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab.

The book is a dark urban fantasy set in a city so overrun with crime and violence that the violence has begun to breed actual monsters who feed on people. Leads Kate and August come from opposite sides — Kate's father extorts the innocent for protection from the monsters, August's father tries to protect the innocent. After a failed assassination attempt, the pair are thrown together and must flee for their lives, whereupon Kate discovers August’s secret: He’s a monster, and a powerful one who can steal souls with a song. 

Joby Harold and Tory Tunnell of Safe House Pictures will produce, along with Palak Patel and Aimee Rivera, who will oversee for Sony.

This Savage Song, which published July 5 on the HarperCollins imprint Greenwillow, debuted at No. 1 on the New York Times YA best-seller list. The story has been described as in the vein of Maggie Stiefvater and Lani Taylor's work. A sequel, Our Dark Duet, is scheduled for summer 2017.

Schwab also is the author of YA novels The Near Witch and The Archived and adult fantasy series A Darker Shade of Magic.

Schwab is repped by CAA and Holly Root of Waxman Leavell Literary Agency.  

comments powered by Disqus