• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest
OCT
4
1 years

New Line to Remake Korean Thriller 'Secret' (Exclusive)

Guy Stodel and CJ Entertainment are to produce the crime title.

Guy Stodel - P 2013
Getty Images
Guy Stodel

New Line has picked up the remake rights to Secret, a Korean crime thriller made by CJ Entertainment.

Guy Stodel will produce the remake along with Jiwon Park of CJ Entertainment.

Released in 2009, Secret ostensibly followed a detective that finds incriminating evidence that may implicate his wife at a murder scene, and he must uncover the mystery before anyone else can.  

STORY: DreamWorks to Remake Japanese Cannes Jury Prize Winner 'Like Father, Like Son' 

New Line and the producers are now looking for a writer to adapt the material in the goal to make a thriller tonally in the vein of No Way Out, Usual Suspects and The Departed. Those flicks were twisty thrillers in which not everything was at it seemed

New Line is now looking for a writer to adapt.

Stodel is a former New Line exec and Paramount Vantage topper turned producer with credits including the remake of Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Michel Gondry's Be Kind Rewind starring Jack Black.

One of Asia's major media companies, CJ Entertainment is an entity that produces and distributes films. The company is behind Snowpiercer, the English-language debut of The Host director Bong Joon-ho.