• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest
FEB
4
2 YEARS

Berlin 2013: Randy Couture and Scott Adkins Starring in 'Distant Shore' (Exclusive)

The action thriller from veteran indie producers Joseph and Jack Nasser is described as being in the vein of "Dead Calm" and "The Grey."

Randy Couture Scott Adkins Split - H 2013
Getty Images

The Expendables star and UFC Hall of Famer Randy Couture will star with Scott Adkins in Distant Shore, an action thriller from veteran indie producers Joseph and Jack Nasser.

The Nassers’ NGN Releasing is teaming up with Studio City Pictures to finance the pic which has a script by Dan Benamor and Evan Jacobs and has Dominic James (Die) on board as director.

BERLIN 2013: Julia Stiles Joins Cast of 'The First'

Described as being in the vein of Dead Calm and The Grey, the story centers around a couple who sails into the ocean to commit suicide but are interrupted by the arrival of another mysterious vessel. Before long these two people who were ready to die are fighting to stay alive.

Jim Harvey of Studio City Pictures will introduce the film project to buyers in Berlin.

The Nassers last executive produced For a Good Time Call, the comedy starring Ari Graynor and Lauren Miller that was released by Focus. NGN just wrapped thriller Final Girl, which stars Abigail Breslin and Wes Bentley.

Couture has found onscreen success playing mercenary Toll Road on the Expendables movie series. The plan is for him to shoot Distant Shore then segue to the third installment of the action franchise later this year.

Adkins played the heavy in Expendables 2 and is currently onscreen in Zero Dark Thirty.

Couture and Adkins are repped by Gersh. Adkins is additionally repped by UK agency BWH.