• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest
JAN
23
3 YEARS

Sunday's 'American Idol' Gets Tuesday Encore

Due to an overrun of the NFC Championship game, the special weekend installment of the Fox singing competition didn't start until 11 p.m. on the East Coast.

American Idol S11 EP2 Judges - H 2012
Michael Becker/FOX

For viewers who missed Sunday's special American Idol installment, Fox has announced it will air an encore on Tuesday.

Sunday's special episode, which saw the judges hit San Diego for auditions, didn't begin until nearly 11 p.m. on the East Coast due to overrun of the NFC Championship game that saw the New York Giants top the San Francisco 49ers.

While the broadcast from Adam Lambert's former stomping ground that saw Jim Carrey's 24-year-old daughter, Jane, get a ticket to Hollywood still drew 19.8 million viewers and a 7.9 in the key adults 18-49 demographic, better than its Wednesday premiere in the demo, but down in overall viewers.

STORY: 5 Highlights from 'American Idol's' San Diego Auditions (Video)

The Idol encore replaces a repeat of Glee. In the Mountain time zone, Idol will air immediately after the State of the Union Address.

A full time zone breakdown follows.

Eastern:
8 p.m. American Idol
9 p.m. State of the Union Address and Republican response

Central:
7 p.m. American Idol
8 p.m. State of the Union Address and Republican response

Mountain:
7 p.m. State of the Union Address and Republican response
8:30 p.m. American Idol

Pacific:
6 p.m. State of the Union Address and Republican response
7:30 p.m. Local programming
8 p.m. American Idol
9 p.m. local programming

Email: Lesley.Goldberg@thr.com; Twitter: @Snoodit