• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest
AUG
1
12 MOS

'Doctor Who' Picks New Star, Sets Sunday Announcement Special (Video)

The 12th Doctor has been chosen -- and BBC One and BBC America will give the new actor (or actress) a TV introduction with a Aug. 4 special featuring current lead Matt Smith and showrunner Steven Moffat.

Matt Smith as Dr. Who - H 2013
BBC America
Matt Smith as Dr. Who

The wait is almost over for Doctor Who fans.

It appears the 50-year-old British series has settled on the 12th actor to play the nameless time-traveling hero. BBC One announced Thursday that it will reveal the identity of the drama's new lead during a Sunday special.

PHOTOS: 'Doctor Who': 14 Actors and Actresses Who Could Be the 12th Doctor

Both showrunner Steven Moffat and exiting Doctor Who Matt Smith are both said to be scheduled for the hour-long event, hosted by network personality Zoe Ball.

"It's kind of business as usual," Smith recently said of his upcoming departure from the role. "It is going to be emotional for me because it's been four years. It's a really transformative experience as an actor. We just kind of make the show though, don't we?"

Speculation continues to loom on who has been dubbed the next Doctor, but U.K. oddsmakers William Hill currently put actor Peter Capaldi in the lead.

Doctor Who Live: The Next Doctor will air at 7 p.m. GMT on Sunday, Aug. 4. in the U.K. For stateside viewers, BBC America will simulcast the special at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT.