'X Factor' to Eliminate 5 Contestants on First Live Show

In a bombshell announcement, the judges will eliminate almost a third of the finalists on Tuesday's episode.
Ray Mickshaw / FOX

There was an expectation that Simon Cowell’s choice to add a 17th finalist in Melanie Amaro would throw The X Factor eliminations off a bit. L.A. Reid recently theorized that the extra finalist would cause two contestants to be eliminated instead of just one on an upcoming show. But, the competition dropped a bomb on fans via Twitter.

PHOTOS: 'X Factor' Top 17 Finalists: Get to Know the Artists

“Breaking news!” the show tweeted Sunday evening. “5 of the 17 acts will be eliminated by the judges on 10/25. Find who's out at 8/7C on FOX!”

So, that means that we’ll be saying goodbye to almost a third of the contestants in one fell swoop on Tuesday’s live show. All 17 artists will take the stage and perform in front of a live studio audience. Then, the judges will eliminate five performers.

Next week, the 12 performers who survive this cut will perform on the live show airing Wednesday, Nov. 2 for America’s votes and someone will be eliminated on the next day’s episode airing Thursday, Nov. 3.

Which five finalists do you think are going first? Tell us in the comments section below.

PHOTOS: Behind the Scenes: THR's 'X Factor' Cover Shoot

Here’s the complete schedule for the remainder of the season as it stands now.

Tuesday, Oct. 25 (8:00-10:30 PM), Finalists Revealed (Special Tuesday Airing)

Wednesday, Nov. 2 (8:00-10:00 PM), LIVE Performance Show

Thursday, Nov. 3 (8:00-9:00 PM),  LIVE Results Show

Wednesday, Nov. 9 (8:00-10:00 PM),  LIVE Performance Show

Thursday, Nov. 10 (8:00-9:00 PM),  LIVE Results Show

Wednesday, Nov. 16 (8:00-10:00 PM), LIVE Performance Show

Thursday, Nov. 17 (8:00-9:00 PM),  LIVE Results Show

Tuesday, Nov. 22 (8:00-10:00 PM),  LIVE Performance Show (Special Tuesday Airing)

Wednesday, Nov. 23 (8:00-9:30 PM),  LIVE Results Show (Special Wednesday Airing)

Wednesday, Nov. 30 (8:00-9:30 PM), LIVE Performance Show

Thursday, Dec. 1 (8:00-9:00 PM),  LIVE Results Show

Wednesday, Dec. 7 (8:00-9:30 PM),  LIVE Performance Show

Thursday, Dec. 8 (8:00-9:00 PM),  LIVE Results Show

Wednesday, Dec. 14 (8:00-9:30 PM),  LIVE Performance Show

Thursday, Dec. 15 (8:00-9:00 PM),  LIVE Results Show

Wednesday, Dec. 21 (8:00-9:30 PM),  LIVE Season Finale, Part 1

Thursday, Dec. 22 (8:00-10:00 PM),  LIVE Season Finale, Part 2

Email: Jethro.Nededog@thr.com; Twitter: @TheRealJethro

comments powered by Disqus