• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest
NOV
8
3 YEARS

Fox News, MSNBC Opts Not to Broadcast Herman Cain's Accuser Press Conference

CNN is the only major cable news network to air the Monday presser held by attorney Gloria Allred and her client.

Herman Cain
Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

As a fourth woman stepped forward on Monday, Nov. 7 to accuse Republican Presidential candidate Herman Cain of sexual harassment, viewers had just one cable network to turn to.

PHOTOS: 10 Hollywood Players That Will Make a Difference in the 2012 Elections

CNN chose to air the press conference live, while Fox News opted to point interested viewers to the web. MSNBC later made mention of the conference, TV Newser reports, while noting that “NBC News has not confirmed 4th accuser’s story.”

The press conference began later than expected, with Howard Stern producer Benjy Bronk taking over the vacant podium. TV networks cut the audio, while online streams continued to broadcast. Earlier this year, Bronk heckled former Congressman Anthony Weiner during his resignation press conference.

STORY: Hermain Cain's Wife Cancels Interview With Fox News' Greta Van Susteren

Cain appeared on ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live later that evening, where he admitted to watching the presser.

“We watched it because we didn’t even know that his whole thing about Woman No. 4 was going to even come out, so that was a surprise,” he said. “At least it wasn’t one of the many that have the first name anonymous so now this one actually had a name and a face so we watched to see what it was and who it was and we are dealing with it… We’re taking this head on.”

Cain is holding a press conference of his own on Tuesday, Nov. 8 at 3 p.m. in Phoenix, Arizona (2 p.m. PT/ 5 p.m. ET), where he is expected to address the latest round of allegations.