TNT Orders Drama Pilot 'Robbers' From 'Justified' Trio

The drama is based on the 2000 book by Christopher Cook and hails from Sony Pictures Television.
Courtesy of Carroll & Graf

TNT is expanding its pilot offerings.

The Turner-owned cable network has picked up to pilot Robbers, The Hollywood Reporter has learned. While the drama was initially developed as a starring vehicle for country star/actor Tim McGraw, he is no longer attached to the project.

Based on Christopher Cook's 2000 debut novel, the drama tells the story of two "running buddies" on a crime spree across Texas, the girl who is the complication and the cop who is after them all. Everyone has a story. Everyone is a mystery. Robbers twists and turns as it weaves its spider web across the Texas landscape, connecting the innocent as well as the not so innocent. The drama is said to be in the vein of Justified and Cormac McCarthy's No Country for Old Men.

Cook and Michael Dinner (Justified, The Wonder Years) will pen the script. Dinner exec produces alongside Sarah Timberman and Carl Beverly's (Justified, Masters of Sex) Timberman/Beverly banner. Sony Pictures Television will produce. (The drama was originally set up at SPT before the duo moved to CBS Television Studios.) Cook also serves as a co-executive producer.

Robbers comes as TNT — under network topper Kevin Reilly — is looking for edgier fare in a bid to compete with cablers including FX. The heist drama becomes the latest pilot order at the network and joins a roster that includes a reboot of feature Animal Kingdom, Will, Good Behavior starring Michelle Dockery, Titans, a redeveloped cocaine drama and Home, the latter of which Reilly brought over to TNT from his former home at Fox.

For Timberman/Beverly, Robbers — should it go to series — would join the company's Masters of Sex (Showtime), Elementary, The Odd Couple (CBS) and Unforgettable (A&E) on the air.

comments powered by Disqus