• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest
JUN
27
6 MOS

World Cup Ratings: USA Loss to Germany Brings 10.8 Million Viewers to ESPN

America's performance in the tournament continues to reap big benefits for the cable network and Univision, as the team's third outing nets another huge audience.

World Cup Germany USA Match - H 2014
AP Photo/Hassan Ammar
World Cup soccer

Much to Ann Coulter's chagrin, World Cup ratings are still on fire.

Though it doesn't quite compare to Sunday's record-breaking game against Portugal, Team USA's third appearance at the 2014 FIFA World Cup saw viewership surge again during Thursday's early match with Germany — averaging 10.8 million viewers.

LIST The Hollywood Reporter Reveals Hollywood's 100 Favorite Films

The 1-0 loss came at quite an early hour for American audiences — with the game starting at 12 p.m. ET/ 9 a.m. PT — one reason why it didn't equal the audience of the previous game. An ideal Sunday evening kickoff time brought 18.2 million viewers to the cable network for USA-Portugal, making it the most watched soccer game in U.S. television history.

Thursday's game also scored an overnight rating of a 6.7, making it the third-highest-rated men's World Cup game on record. And Team USA's not-altogether-expected endurance in the tournament is only good news for ratings moving forward.

PHOTOS Hollywood's Biggest Soccer Fans

The game was a boon to streaming viewership as well, with many fans tuning in from work. The WatchESPN app peaked with 1.7 million viewers, a platform record, while Univision's stream reached 750,000.

ESPN will next telecast America's Round of 16 match against Belgium. The Tuesday, July 1, game kicks off at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT, a much more advantageous start time, ratingswise.