Academy Sets Its 87th Oscar Season Dates

10:53 AM PST 04/17/2014 by Gregg Kilday
Getty Images

While the Feb. 22, 2015, date had been previously announced, the Academy also laid out dates for events leading up to the Oscars.

The 87th Academy Awards will be held on Feb. 22, 2015, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences confirmed Thursday. 

That date returns the ceremony, broadcast by ABC, to the last Sunday in February, a spot on the calendar that it has occupied in recent years, with the exception of this year, when it moved to the first Sunday of March to avoid competing with the broadcast of the closing ceremonies of the Winter Olympics.

While the Feb. 22, 2015, date had been previously announced, the Academy also laid out dates for events leading up to the Oscars. The key dates are:

Saturday, November 8, 2014: The Governors Awards
Wednesday, December 3, 2014: Official Screen Credits and music submissions due
Monday, December 29, 2014: Nominations voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Thursday, January 8, 2015: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Thursday, January 15, 2015: Oscar nominations announced
Monday, February 2, 2015: Oscar Nominees Luncheon
Friday, February 6, 2015: Final voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Saturday, February 7, 2015: Scientific and Technical Awards
Tuesday, February 17, 2015: Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Oscar Sunday, February 22, 2015: 87th Academy Awards begins 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT

comments powered by Disqus