Academy: Three Reps of Casting Directors Branch Elected to Board

© A.M.P.A.S.

David Rubin, Bernie Telsey and Lora Kennedy will sit on the board of governors as representatives of the newly created branch.

Three members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences' newly created casting directors branch have been elected to serve on the board of governors as representatives of the branch.

ANALYSIS: Why the Academy Is Going Back to Ellen  

The first-time governors are David Rubin, who has been elected to a three-year term; Bernie Telsey, who has been elected to a two-year term; and Lora Kennedy, who has been elected to a one-year term.

The Academy's board approved the creation of a casting directors branch in July. Previously, individual casting directors had been invited to join the Academy, but since they did not have a branch of their own, they were admitted as members-at-large.

STORY: Casting Society Announces Artios Awards Nominees 

"The addition of these exceptional professionals to our board is another positive step toward making our organization more inclusive and more reflective of the broader industry," Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs said. "We welcome them, their ideas and their insights wholeheartedly."

The Academy's 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

comments powered by Disqus