ACM Awards 2013: Jason Aldean, Blake Shelton Among Off-Camera Winners

Several artists have already earned a nod from the Academy even before the April 7 ceremony.

Weeks before the Academy of Country Music Awards, several trophies have already been doled out to the genre’s top artists.

Jason Aldean, Blake Shelton, Hank Williams, The Judds, Lady Antebellum, Guy Clark, Keith Whitley and Tommy Wiggins are among the first off-camera winners announced by the academy on Friday, taking home songwriter, industry and special awards.

The Voice coach Shelton has been selected to receive the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award, given to an artist that represents unprecedented, unique and outstanding individual achievements in country music. Past winners include Garth Brooks, George Burns and Willie Nelson.

PHOTOS: Academy of Country Music Awards Red Carpet Arrivals: Taylor Swift, Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert Shine

Aldean is being honored with the Crystal Milestone Award, which is given to an artist or industry leader to commemorate a specific, remarkable achievement. For Aldean, the honor comes on the heels of his first sold-out stadium show last year during his Night Train tour, which also made him the first country artist to headline at Boston’s historic Fenway Park. That show sold out in a record-setting seven minutes, prompting another show the following night.

Clark and Williams are given the Poet’s Award for songwriting, while Dallas Davidson is named songwriter of the year. Lady Antebellum is honored with the Jim Reeves International Award, for promoting acceptance of country music across the globe, while The Judds and Whitley were selected to receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award, for individuals who are pioneers of the genre.

Find a complete list of early winners on the next page.

The ACM Awards are set for April 7 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. The show will be broadcast live on CBS to the East Coast at 8 p.m., with a tape-delayed West Coast broadcast.

E-mail:; Twitter: @SophieSchillaci

comments powered by Disqus