Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

Barbra Streisand to Receive Film Society of Lincoln Center's Chaplin Award


The award will be presented at a Lincoln Center gala on April 22.

Barbra Streisand will be honored with the Film Society of Lincoln Center's 40th annual Chaplin award at a gala at New York's Lincoln Center on April 22.

"Barbra Streisand is an American icon whose groundbreaking work significantly opened the doors for other female filmmakers. She has been an inspiration to me and so many of my peers," said FSLC Executive Director Rose Kuo in a news release. "She is the perfect recipient for our 40th anniversary because, like our award's namesake, she is a world class, multi-faceted film artist."

CONCERT REVIEW: Barbra Streisand in Brooklyn

The Film Society has presented the award since 1972. French actress Catherine Deneuve was honored with the award -- named after Charles Chaplin -- at last year's gala. Previous recipients have included Hollywood luminaries Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Scorsese, Elizabeth Taylor, Diane Keaton and Sidney Poitier.

"The Board is very excited to have Barbra Streisand as the next recipient of The Chaplin Award," said Ann Tenenbaum, The Film Society of Lincoln Center’s Board Chairman, in the release. "She is an artist whose long career of incomparable achievements is most powerfully expressed by the fact that her acclaimed YENTL was such a milestone film. We welcome her to the list of masterful directors who have been prior recipients of the Chaplin Award Tribute."

Streisand wrote, directed and starred in 1983's Yentl, for which she won Golden Globes for Best Director and Best Picture. The actress and singer most recently appeared in the holiday season road trip comedy Guilt Trip. 

comments powered by Disqus