Berlin: Festival Names Best First Film Jury

The Berlin Film Festival has picked the three-person jury that will just this year's Best First Feature Award, the debut feature prize that comes with a $70,000 (€50,000) cash bursary.

Italian actress Valeria Golino (Rain Man), American documentary filmmaker Nancy Buirski (The Loving Story) and Argentine director Hernan Musaluppi (Whisky) will pick the best newcomer among the films screening across Berlin's competition, Panorama, Generation and Perspektive Deutsche Kino sections. In total, 18 directorial debuts will be competing for the first film prize.

The cash award is shared between the producer and the director of the winning film.

The winner of this year's Best First Feature Award will be announced at the Berlin festival awards gala Feb. 15.


comments powered by Disqus