Bradley Cooper plowing 'Dark Fields'

'Hangover' actor will star in Neil Burger's thriller

Bradley Cooper is set to star in "Dark Fields," a thriller being directed by Neil Burger for Relativity Media.

The story follows a down-and-out writer (Cooper) who gets his hands on a top-secret pharmaceutical drug that makes one smarter. He experiences sudden financial and social success but soon discovers that the drug has lethal and lasting side effects, including "trip-switching," a phenomenon in which time moves with a stop-motion quality. Before long, mysterious antagonists are pursuing him. The thriller is said to be in the vein of "Fight Club" and "The Game."

The script is based on the book by Alan Glynn, with the screenplay written by Leslie Dixon ("The Thomas Crown Affair").

Universal will distribute via Relativity's Rogue Pictures.

"Fields" is being produced by Leslie Dixon and Scott Kroopf ("Breach") as well as Relativity's Ryan Kavanaugh. Relativity's Tucker Tooley will serve as executive producer.

Shia LaBeouf was originally attached to star in the project.

"Fields" continues Cooper's hot streak since his "Hangover" success. The actor, repped by CAA and Thruline, has signed on to several projects since that movie became the highest-grossing R-rated comedy of all time, including "The A-Team."
comments powered by Disqus