Britney Spears Reaches 10 Million Twitter Followers

 C Flanigan/FilmMagic/Getty Images

Britney Spears is the sixth person to reach 10 million Twitter followers.

PHOTOS: The Billboard Music Awards

As of Wednesday morning, she had 10.1 million.

Spears didn't Tweet about the landmark. She's currently on the European leg of her Femme Fatale show.

Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, President Barack Obama, Katy Perry and Kim Kardashian beat Spears in reaching 10 million followers.

PHOTOS: VMAs Most Outrageous Red Carpet Fashion

As Mediabistro points out, it took Spears 53 days to go from nine to 10 million followers.

Two and a Half Men star Ashton Kutcher was the first person to reach one million Twitter followers, but will soon drop out of the top 10, as Selena Gomez, Oprah Winfrey and Ellen DeGeneres are closing in on him.

The list of the top 10 Twitter most-followed people, as ranked by Mediabistro:

    Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 14,381,470)
    Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 13,309,185)
    Barack Obama (@barackobama, 10,675,468)
    Katy Perry (@katyperry, 10,481,994)
    Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 10,307,959)
    Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 10,099,290)
    Shakira (@shakira, 9,088,877)
    Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 8,415,223)
    Rihanna (@rihanna, 8,223,280)
    Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk, @7,908,888)

comments powered by Disqus