• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest

Busan International Film Festival Announces Flash Forward Titles

The Idiot

Canadian films prominent among the 10 titles in competition.

HONG KONG – The Busan International Film Festival announced its selections for the 10 films for the Flash Forward sidebar, aimed at promoting young, non-Asian filmmakers. 

A Flash Forward Award was created for the section in 2009, the winner of which will be given a $20,000 cash prize.

The 2011 selection includes the debut and second films of directors from Estonia, Armenia, Russia, Poland and Turkey.  Subject matters range from war wounds, lovers’ discourse, the Kobe earthquake in Japan, game addiction, African immigrants in Italy, and a new adaptation of Dostoevsky’s The Idiot.

Flash Forward 2011 Selections:

Courage, Greg Zglinski, Poland The Idiot, Rainer Sarnet, Estonia Joan and the Voices, Mikayel Vatinyan, Armenia LA-BAS - A Criminal Education, Guido Lombardi, Italy Memories Corner, Audrey Fouche, France/Canada MESH (Walking), Shiar Abdi, Turkey/Germany My Father is BaryshnikovDmitry Povoltsky/ Mark Drugoi, Russia Nuit #1, Anne Emond, Canada The Odds, Simon Davidson, Canada Off White Lies, Maya Kenig, Israel