Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

CBS, PBS Lead News and Documentary Emmy Award Nominees

David Fanning
David Fanning
 Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

"Frontline" executive producer David Fanning will receive the lifetime achievement award at the Oct. 1 event.

CBS and PBS lead the nominees for the 34th annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards, with 46 and 45 nominations, respectively.

Frontline executive producer David Fanning will receive the lifetime achievement award at the Oct. 1 event, held at the Time Warner Center in New York City. Frontline is the longest-running investigative documentary series in the U.S. and has won several notable awards, including 57 Emmys, 27 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards and 15 Peabodys.

"Congratulations to our esteemed nominees," said Malachy Wienges, chairman of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. "We are honoring this year's outstanding news stories, and we are also pleased to have David Fanning as this year's lifetime achievement recipient. David has guided Frontline to the pinnacle of public affairs television. This year's event promises to be a wonderful evening honoring the best that news and documentary television can be."

HBO followed CBS and PBS with 21 nominations, ABC nabbed 14, NBC with 13, CNN with 8 and MSNBC with 8. Other nominees include the National Geographic Channel, The New York Times, Smithsonian Channel, Discovery Channel, History Channel, AXS TV, BBC World News America, CNBC, CCTV America, Bloomberg, MTV, Univision, Science, Showtime and NPR.

For a full list of nominees, go to

Twitter: @insidethetube

comments powered by Disqus