Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

Celine Sallette and Raphael Personnaz Win French Promising Young Actor Awards

 Getty Images

Cesar winners are awarded the Romy Schneider and Patrick Dewaere prizes.

Paris – Celine Sallette and Raphael Personnaz were recognized as the future of French cinema with the twin Romy Schneider and Patrick Dewaere prizes at an intimate ceremony on Monday night. 

“Patrick Dewaere is one of my favorite actors, so to have a prize with his name is really moving for me,” Personnaz told The Hollywood Reporter. “I really admire his career being able to move from comedy to drama, and he has been an example for me, so I take this as a little bit of encouragement in my career.  I will still hope to be an actor when I’m 80, if I reach it.”

Sallette, in Giambattista Valli, said she hoped the award would create new opportunities for her.

Established in 1981, the awards are handed out annually to two young actors who are thought to represent France’s most promising new talent by a jury of critics and journalists. The prizes are named in honor of the late French screen legends.

Both Sallette and Personnaz are previous Cesar winners. Sallette won “Most Promising Newcomer” for The Apollonides in 2012, and Personnaz was recognized with the same award in 2011 for his work in The Princess of Montpensier.

Pierre Niney of the upcoming Yves Saint Laurent biopic and Matthias Schoenaerts (Rust and Bone) were the other finalists for the Dewaere prize.  Cesar-winner Izia Hieglin and Soko, both popular singers-turned-actresses, were shortlisted for the Schneider prize.   

Oscar-nominee Berenice Bejo and rapper Joey Starr (Polisse) were the winners in 2012. Juliette Binoche, Olivier Martinez and Mathieu Kassovitz are also previous winners.

comments powered by Disqus