Chuck Lorre, Michael Eisner New ATAS Hall of Fame Inductees

Getty Images

"The Jeffersons" star Sherman Hemsley, "I Love Lucy's" Vivian Vance and Bill Frawley, and "Real World" creators Mary-Ellis Bunim and Jonathan Murray are also part of the 2012 class.

The Two and A Half Men producer that took on Charlie Sheen, the biggest name in Spanish TV, the former head of Disney, and Fred and Ethel Mertz are among the latest inductees into the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame.

The executive producer of Two And A Half Men as well The Big Bang Theory and Mike and Molly is Chuck Lorre, who survived Sheen's anger to see his show become even stronger in the ratings.

PHOTOS: Hollywood's Biggest Blunders

He is joined among the 21st annual Hall of Fame inductees by Michael Eisner, who was CEO of the Walt Disney Company from 1985 until 2005; Don Francisco, the popular longtime Univision show host; Sherman Hemsley, the actor who most famously played George Jefferson; TV lighting legend Bill Klages; producers Mary-Ellis Bunim and Jonathan Murray, who are widely credited with inventing the modern reality TV genre; and the late Vivian Vance and William "Bill" Frawley, who will forever be remembered as Ethel and Fred Mertz, the best friends of the Ricardo's on I Love Lucy.

"The group of inductees for this year's Hall of Fame has had a remarkable impact in all areas of the television industry, from performers and hosts to producers and executives," said Mark Itkin, the WME board member who headed the selection committee.

The announcement was made by Television Academy Chairman and CEO John Shaffner, who ends his tenure as head of the group at the end of December.

The other members of this year's selection committee were Mike Darnell, President of Alternative Entertainment at FOX; Peter Roth, President of Warner Brothers Television; Fred Silverman, founder of the Fred Silverman Company and former executive at ABC, CBS and NBC; Nina Tassler, President of CBS Entertainment; and Steve Venezia, Director, Content Services at Dolby Laboratories, Inc.

The 2012 inductees join more than 120 others in the Hall of Fame. Past honorees include Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Walter Cronkite, Walt Disney, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Barbara Walters, Dan Rather, Oprah Winfrey, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Lorne Michaels, Carl Reiner, Katie Couric, Bob Mackie, Bob Barker, Bea Arthur, Bill Cosby, Regis Philbin, William Shatner, Bob Stewart and Candice Bergen.

The Academy's information about the new inductees follows after the break.

comments powered by Disqus