How the Media Is Covering the Conrad Murray Trial

 Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

Tuesday marked the beginning of the trial for Conrad Murray, Michael Jackson's personal doctor, being accused of involuntary manslaughter in the death of the singer in 2009.

On the heels of its coverage of the Casey Anthony trial, cable network HLN is delving into the Murray trial. According to the New York Times, HLN had a countdown clock to 8:45 a.m. Pacific/11:45 a.m. Eastern time when opening arguments began. The network also previewed the trial by having morning anchor Robin Meade leading.

Unlike the Anthony trial, HLN will use veteran legal news reporters for its round-the-clock coverage, including former lawyer and Court TV anchor Vinne Politan and Jane Velez-Mitchell, instead of its usual core and Nancy Grace -- currently competing on ABC's Dancing With the Stars -- will not be as visible as she was for the Anthony trial.

Radio station KCRW's Morning Edition discussed the Murray trial as it began, with host David Greene. Karen Grigsby Bates offered a preview for listeners prior to the start of trial, with interviews/quotes from Jermaine Jackson, Linda Deutsch -- an Associated Press reporter -- and former federal prosecutor, Laurie Levenson.

CNN.com/live and CNN mobile apps will also be bringing the Murray trial live as it happens. CNN is also live blogging the trial. Tuesday's Nancy Grace at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET will ask, "Was Murray criminally responsible for Michael Jackson's death?" Following at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET, Dr. Drew will look at the role Murray played in Jackson's life.

TMZ.com, Mediaite.com, Huffington Post and E! Online are offering live streams from the courthouse during the trial, with updates from inside the room. Publications such as the Los Angeles Times, ABC News and Washington Post reported on the details from inside the courtroom.

UStream is also providing a live broadcast of the Murray trial through CBS News. Viewers from around the world can watch and interact with others.

comments powered by Disqus