Darren Aronofsky, Christopher Nolan Among Directors Guild Nominees

 Niko Tavernise

The most notable omission was that of the Coen brothers, who won three years ago for "No Country for Old Men," but were not nominated this year for "True Grit."

The feature film directors nominated for the Directors Guild of America’s 63rd annual DGA Awards are Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan, David Fincher for The Social Network, Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech, Christopher Nolan for Inception and David O. Russell for The Fighter.

None of the nominees are previous winners in the DGA's feature director category.

Nolan was nominated twice previously -- for 2000's Memento and 2008's The Dark Knight.

Fincher has earned one previous DGA feature film directing nom -- for 2008's The Curious Case of Benjamin Button -- but he has been nominated twice for his commercial work, winning in that category in 2004.

While Hooper has not been nominated before in the DGA's film category, he did receive a nomination in 2009 in the TV movie/miniseries category for his work on HBO's John Adams.

Aronofsky and Russell are both first-time DGA nominees.

The most notable omission was that of the Coen brothers. Although they won the award three years ago for No Country for Old Men, they were not nominated this year for True Grit.

The DGA nominations are traditionally considered an indicator of where Academy sentiment is trending, since on only six occasions since the DGA Awards were begun in 1948 has the DGA feature film winner failed to go on to pick up the corresponding Oscar.

The winner will be announced at the DGA's annual awards dinner Jan. 29 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Read the full announcement after the jump

comments powered by Disqus