Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

DGA Awards: Internet Entries Now Up for Consideration

The guild unveils the schedule for its 2014 ceremony as well as two new categories.

The DGA has announced its 2014 awards schedule and several new changes: the addition of two categories as well as the admittance of web-only programs in eight categories.

The 66th Annual DGA Awards will be held on Saturday, Jan. 25, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, the guild said Monday.

The two new awards are Variety/Talk/News/Sports -- Regularly Scheduled Programming and Variety/Talk/News/Sports -- Specials. The former includes: variety shows such as Saturday Night Live and American Idol; talk shows such as Ellen and The Daily Show With Jon Stewart; news broadcasts and sports broadcasts. Each entry must be an episode of a current and regularly scheduled program.

The Specials Award will honor non-regularly scheduled variety specials (like the Oscars, the Emmys and concert specials), news specials (the presidential inauguration or a Barbara Walters special) and sports specials such as the World Series and Super Bowl.

STORY: DGA Elects Paris Barclay President

Meanwhile, online programs are now eligible to be nominated for eight DGA awards: Dramatic Series; Comedy Series; Movies for Television and Mini-Series; Variety/Talk/News/Sports -- Regularly Scheduled Programming; Variety/Talk/News/Sports -- Specials; Documentary; Reality; and Children’s Programming. (The Commercials Award category has been open to web-only ads since 2007.)

All made-for-Internet submissions, excluding commercials, should be at least half an hour in length. 

Other DGA Awards changes: the guild's national board of directors has voted to broaden the Dramatic Series category beyond primetime, so that all dramatic scripted programming that's part of a series -- including daytime and internet serials -- can be folded in. The Daytime Serials Award category was eliminated "because of the compression of entries over the past few years," according to the DGA.

These tweaks to the awards (which were voted on during a June 22 board meeting) are the first since 2005, when the guild created the Reality Award category.

View the entire DGA Awards schedule here.

comments powered by Disqus