Directors Guild Sets Key Awards Season Dates


The Directors Guild of America has set its awards season timeline leading up to its 67th annual DGA Awards, which will be held Feb. 7, 2015, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles and will be chaired by DGA president Paris Barclay.

Feature film nominees will be announced Jan. 13 and television, commercial and documentary nominees will be announced Jan. 14.

The guild also modified one rule regarding submissions for scripted TV shows: Directors who wish to submit an episode of scripted television for consideration must submit it in the same category for which they were hired to direct it. For example, if a program is classified as a miniseries under its DGA agreement, then the director must submit it in the movies for television and miniseries category, and if a director is hired to direct a drama series, he or she must submit it in the drama series categories.

The complete schedule follows:

 

FEATURE FILM AWARD

Online voting for nominations opens Wednesday, Dec. 3

Deadline to vote online is Monday, Jan. 12

Feature film nominees are announced Tuesday, Jan. 13.

Online voting opens Tuesday, Jan. 3

Membership screenings of the five nominated feature films runs Jan. 19-23

Deadline to vote online is Friday, Feb. 6

 

TELEVISION AWARDS

Entry forms for TV and commercials available online Monday, Oct. 6

Deadline for submitting television and commercials entries is Friday, Dec. 5

Online voting for television nominations opens Monday, Dec. 15

Deadline to vote online for television nominations is Monday, Jan. 12

Television and commercial nominees are announced Wednesday, Jan. 14

 

DOCUMENTARY AWARD

Entry Form for documentary available online Monday, Sept. 8

Email documentary entry forms to all theatrical distributors, broadcast networks and past entries, Sept. 8

For documentary entries with a theatrical release or broadcast during the period of Jan. 1, 2014,  through Sept. 30, 2014, the deadline is Monday, Oct. 6

For documentary entries with a theatrical release or broadcast during the period of Oct. 1 through Dec. 31, the deadline is Monday, Nov. 3

Documentary nominees are announced Wednesday, Jan. 14

 

AWARDS DINNER

Email dinner reservation forms Friday, Dec. 5

Deadline for returning all dinner reservation forms is Friday, Jan. 30.

DGA Awards dinner, Saturday, Feb. 7

comments powered by Disqus