Facebook After You Die: Loved Ones Can Now Manage Your Account

Facebook

Users can now choose a legacy contact to manage their account after they pass away.

Facebook announced a new feature on Thursday, which allows account holders to set up a legacy contact that will take control of their account after they pass away.

The new feature offers current users the option of choosing a friend or family member to manage their account when they die. When the Facebook user passes away, Facebook grants the chosen individual permission to write a post at the top of the memorialized timeline, respond to friend requests and update both the profile picture and cover photo.

The social media giant previously offered a basic memorialization feature that kept pages open after users had died, but did not grant access to friends or family members to manage or update the account.

"By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realized there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death," Facebook posted on Thursday morning.

Facebook also changed the appearance of deceased users' pages by adding the word "remembering" above their name.

If granted permission by the account holder, the legacy contact may also download archived profile information, posts and photos that the former user shared on their page. Legacy contacts will not be granted permission to see the deceased's messages or log in as the user.

Users that would prefer to have their account deleted after death can opt out of the legacy feature and have their page permanently closed.

See the below step-by-step instructions to set up a legacy contact.

Settings > Security > Legacy Contact

Choose Legacy Contact

Send Optional Message to Chosen Legacy Contact

Grant Legacy Contact Permission to Download Archive Posts, Photos and Profile Info Shared By User

comments powered by Disqus