Awards Calendar

  • AMPAS: Oscar Nominees Luncheon
    February 8, 2016
  • BAFTA: Round Two voting closes
    February 10, 2016
  • 11th Annual Final Draft Awards
    February 11, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting opens
    February 12, 2016
  • AMPAS: Scientific and Technical Awards
    February 13, 2016
  • WGA: 68th Annual Writers Guild Awards - Hyatt Regency Century Plaza
    February 13, 2016
  • BAFTA: British Academy Film Awards - Royal Opera House, London
    February 14, 2016
  • 28th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award
    February 20, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting closes
    February 23, 2016
  • AMPAS: 88th Academy Awards - Dolby Theatre
    February 28, 2016

Film Academy's New Board of Governors Includes Sony's Amy Pascal and Filmmaker Alex Gibney

The 48-member board now includes 14 women, the highest number in its history.

Ten first-time governors -- including Sony Pictures Entertainment co-chairman Amy Pascal and Oscar-winning documentary filmmaker Alex Gibney -- have been elected to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' board of governors, the organization's governing body.

Pascal will represent the executives branch, while Gibney will rep the documentary branch. The other first-timers on the board include Judianna Makovsky and Deborah Nadoolman, representing the newly created costume designers branch; Rick Carter and Jan Pascale, the designers branch, Lynzee Klingman, film editors; Kathryn Blondell and Bill Corso, makeup artists and hairstylists; and Nancy Utley, co-president of Fox Searchlight, public relations.

The 48-member board now contains 14 women, the highest figure in its history. "I'm very excited by that," said Hawk Koch, who will be stepping down from his term as Academy president on July 30. "It reflects the industry as a whole,and is the largest number of women we have ever had. Amy Pascal is only the second woman to represent the executive branch -- the first was Mary Pickford." Pickford was one of the founding members of the Academy in 1927.

Governors who were reelected for three-year terms each include Ed Begley Jr., actors; John Bailey, cinematographers; Kathryn Bigelow, directors; Charles Fox, music; Jon Bloom, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer, sound; Richard Edlund, visual effects; and Robin Swicord, writers.

Mark Johnson, a longtime member of the board, is returning after a hiatus to represent the producers branch. 

The board, which had previously numbered 43 members, expands this year to 48. In January, costume designers, who previously had been part of the designers branch, which also includes production designers, art directors and set directors, were given their own branch. The Academy also decided that the makeup artists and hairstylists branch, which had been repped by one governor, would be represented by three governors going forward.

"I think it's a great board," Koch said of the new lineup. "We had the highest voter turnout ever to vote for the governors, so I think that means the members are really engaged. And I think this is a board that will carry through on everything we tried to do this year."

One third of the board is elected or reelected each year. Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are Annette Bening and Tom Hanks, actors; Jim Bissell, designers; Richard P. Crudo and Dante Spinotti, cinematographers; Jeffrey Kurland, costume designers; Lisa Cholodenko and Michael Mann, directors; Michael Apted and Rob Epstein, documentary; Dick Cook and Robert Rehme, executives; Mark L. Goldblatt and Michael Tronick, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Arthur Hamilton and David L. Newman, music; Gale Anne Hurd and Kathleen Kennedy, producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Rob Friedman, public relations; Bill Kroyer and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Don Hall and Scott Millan, sound; Craig Barron and John Knoll, visual effects; and Bill Condon and Phil Robinson, writers.

comments powered by Disqus