Awards Calendar

  • HFPA: Deadline for nomination ballots to be mailed to all HFPA members by Ernst & Young
    November 25, 2015
  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015

'Fruitvale Station' to Receive Producers Guild's Stanley Kramer Award

The honor will be presented at the PGA awards ceremony Jan. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Fruitvale Station, the directorial debut of Ryan Coogler that claimed the grand jury prize and audience award at Sundance, is set to be honored with the Stanley Kramer award by the Producers Guild of America, the organization said Friday.

"It is a testament to the director, the production team and the incredible efforts of the many talented people in our crew and cast who worked so hard because they believed in the message of this movie. Many thanks to the Producers Guild of America for this recognition," said producer Forest Whitaker in a statement. 

STORY: Stanley Kramer's Legacy to be Remembered with Centennial Celebration 

After being acquired by The Weinstein Co. in January at Sundance, Fruitvale Station was released theatrically in the U.S. in July, grossing more than $15 million.

The title, which stars Michael B. Jordan and Octavia Spencer, didn't receive nominations this week in any categories for the Golden Globes or Screen Actors Guild Awards.

The Stanley Kramer award recognizes films that increase "public awareness of important social issues." Last year's recipient of the honor was Lee Hirsch's Weinstein Co. documentary Bully.

This year's honor will be presented at the PGA awards ceremony Jan. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

comments powered by Disqus