Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

Hollywood Reporter Named Top News Website at Los Angeles Press Club Awards

 Ruven Afanador

THR also won for best feature photo, best personality profile, best magazine design, best investigative report and best videographer.

The Hollywood Reporter was honored with six awards at the Los Angeles Press Club's 55th Southern California Journalism Awards Sunday. won best website, news organization for the second year in a row.

Senior writer Gary Baum's magazine piece "No Animals Were Harmed" won in the investigative category, while Creative director Shanti Marlar, design director Peter B. Cury and the THR design team were honored with best design for their work on the 2013 Cannes Issue.

Executive editor, features Stephen Galloway's “Pat Kingsley on the Record” earned a personality profile win.

Photo and video director Jennifer Laski  won in the feature photo category along with photo editor-at-large Jenny Sargent and photographer Art Streiber for their portrait of Jennifer Lopez with her stylists Rob Zangardi and Mariel Haenn.

Raphael Laski won best videographer for the Actress Roundtable.

THR went into the awards with 34 nominations, the most of any publication.

The 56th SoCal Journalism Awards were handed out at a gala ceremony, emceed by actor Charles Shaughnessy, at The Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.  Meanwhile, the 2014 honorees at the ceremony were Ann Curry, NBC; Maria Shriver, The Shriver Report; Khaled Abu Toameh, Jerusalem Post; and Michael Bloomberg and Matthew Winkler, Bloomberg News.

comments powered by Disqus