Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

Indie Spirit Awards 2012: 'The Artist' Filmmakers Last to Arrive Due to Late Flight

 Weinstein Co.

Director Michel Hazanavicius arrives in time to accept Best Director award.

The filmmakers behind The Artist, who attended the Cesar Awards in Paris Friday night, were the last to arrive in Santa Monica for Saturday's Film Independent Spirit Awards, due to a flight delay.

Director Michel Hazanavicius arrived just in time to accept his Best Director award.

The filmmakers had planned to fly to Los Angeles overnight, and Air France was planning on securing an escort that would have gotten them to the awards ceremony in time. It was not immediately clear where they encountered a delay. Both Hazanavicius and producer Thomas Langmann received police escorts from Los Angeles International Airport.

At the Spirits, the film recieved the award for Best Feature. Jean Dujardin was named Best Actor, and Guillame Schiffman received the award for cinematography. The movie's Penelope Ann Miller accepted in their absence.

comments powered by Disqus