LaBeouf gets smart with 'Fields' role

Empty

Shia LaBeouf is making a trip to "The Dark Fields," a thriller that Neil Burger is directing for Universal. Leslie Dixon and Intermedia's Scott Kroopf are producing.

The story, by Burger and Dirk Wittenborn, follows a loser (LaBeouf) who gets his hands on a top-secret pharmaceutical drug that makes one smarter. He experiences sudden financial and social success but soon discovers that the drug has lethal and lasting side effects, including "trip-switching," a phenomenon in which time moves with a stop-motion quality. The thriller is said to be in the vein of "Fight Club" and "The Game."

The script is based on the book by Alan Glynn.

Peter Cramer is overseeing for Universal.

LaBeouf next stars in "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" and "Eagle Eye." He is currently shooting the Anthony Minghella-scripted segment of the anthology film "New York, I Love You."

LaBeouf is repped by Endeavor, John Crosby Management and lawyer Matt Saver.
comments powered by Disqus