Awards Calendar

  • HFPA: Deadline for nomination ballots to be mailed to all HFPA members by Ernst & Young
    November 25, 2015
  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015

Milos Forman to Receive DGA's Lifetime Achievement Award

 Vittorio Zunino Celotto/Getty Images

The 65th annual DGA Awards will take place on Feb. 2, 2013.

Milos Forman will receive the Directors Guild of America's Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Motion Picture Direction, at the 65th annual DGA Awards on Feb. 2, DGA president Taylor Hackford announced Wednesday.

PHOTOS: THR's Director Roundtable

“It is a tremendous privilege to present the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award for feature film to one of the greatest filmmakers of our time, Milos Forman,” Hackford said.  “No matter what subject or genre he tackles, Milos finds the universality of the human experience in every story, allowing us – his rapt audience – to recognize ourselves within the struggle for free expression and self-determination that Milos so aptly portrays on the silver screen.”

STORY: Director Roundtable: 6 Auteurs on Tantrums, Crazy Actors and Quitting While They're Ahead

Forman is perhaps best known for directing One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and Amadeus, for which he twice won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film. He also took home the best director Oscar for both films.

In the Guild's 76-year history, only 33 directors have been recognized with the honor -- Norman Jewison, the last recipient, was honored in 2010. 



comments powered by Disqus