Awards Calendar

  • AMPAS: Oscar Nominees Luncheon
    February 8, 2016
  • BAFTA: Round Two voting closes
    February 10, 2016
  • 11th Annual Final Draft Awards
    February 11, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting opens
    February 12, 2016
  • AMPAS: Scientific and Technical Awards
    February 13, 2016
  • WGA: 68th Annual Writers Guild Awards - Hyatt Regency Century Plaza
    February 13, 2016
  • BAFTA: British Academy Film Awards - Royal Opera House, London
    February 14, 2016
  • 28th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award
    February 20, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting closes
    February 23, 2016
  • AMPAS: 88th Academy Awards - Dolby Theatre
    February 28, 2016

Nansun Shi Named Asia Pacific Screen Awards Jury President

TIFF director Cameron Bailey also on jury for fifth annual event.

SYDNEY -- Hong Kong producer and 2011 Cannes Film Festival juror Nansun Shi will serve as the president of the international jury for the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA), organizers announced Wednesday.

Joining Shi to make up the jury for the fifth annual event are co-director of the Toronto International Film Festival Cameron Bailey, Japanese director and actress Kaori Momoi, Israeli director Samuel Maoz, and executive chairman of the China Film Producers Association, Ming Zhenjiang.

“Over the five years since its inception, APSA has been honoured to host International Juries whose members have been amongst the most distinguished in the film industries of Asia-Pacific and beyond. This year is no exception with five members representing an enormous breadth of experience and understanding of cinema from a variety of cultures and continents," APSA chairman Des Power said.

More than 240 films from 43 countries are competing in this year’s APSAs including, for the first time, films from Samoa and Cyprus. Films by Zhang Yimou and Chen Kaige (People’s Republic of China), Aparna Sen (India), Asghar Farhadi (Islamic Republic of Iran), Eric Khoo (Singapore), John Woo and Tsui Hark (Hong Kong – People’s Republic China), Hong Sang-soo (Republic of Korea), Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey), Sion Sono (Japan), and Fred Schepisi, Julia Leigh and Ivan Sen (Australia) are among those under consideration for nominations in the 2011 APSAs.

The APSA Jury will meet on Australia’s Gold Coast in late November for final judging, ahead of the APSA ceremony on Nov. 24, 2011. The nominees will be announced in early October.

This year's awards ceremony will be streamed live over the Internet.

comments powered by Disqus