'Nebesa Moya Obitel' Wins Main Prize at Kinoshock Russian Festival

MOSCOW – The Uzbek movie Nebesa Moya Obitel (The Sky is my Monastery), directed by Ayub Shakhobiddinov, collected the Golden Vine, the main prize of the film festival Kinoshock, which drew to close in the Russian Black Sea resort of Anapa late on Sept. 23.

Georgia’s Zaza Urushadze collected the best director’s award for Bolo Gaseirneba (The Guardian).

The best screenplay award of the fest, which is devoted to fare from the former Soviet republics, went to Estonia’s Peeter Simm and Mihkel Ulman, the writers of Üksik saar (Lonely Island), directed by Simm and co-produced by Estonia, Latvia and Belarus.

Alexei Simonov picked up the best photography award for his work on Alexei Balabanov’s Ya Tozhe Khochu (I Also Want It). The movie also collected the international film critics’ prize.

Belarusian actor Vladimir Svirsky was awarded as the best actor for his role in Sergei Loznitsa’s V Tumane (In the Fog), a German/Dutch/Belarusian/Russian/Latvian co-production. The best actress award went to Lithuania’s Janina Lapinskaite for her role in Mieganciu drugeliu tvirtove (The Fortress of Sleeping Butterflies).

The jury’s special diplomas were awarded to the Ukrainian film Tot Kto Proshel Skvoz Ogon (Firecrosser), directed by Mykhailo Illienko, and Kyrgyzstan’s Printsessa Nazik (Princess Nazik) by Erkin Saliyev.

Timur Bekmambetov was awarded the international festival council’s special prize as the former Soviet Union’s best producer.

comments powered by Disqus