Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: 43rd Annual Annie Awards - Royce Hall
    February 6, 2016
  • DGA: Awards - Hyatt Regency Century Plaza
    February 6, 2016
  • AMPAS: Oscar Nominees Luncheon
    February 8, 2016
  • BAFTA: Round Two voting closes
    February 10, 2016
  • 11th Annual Final Draft Awards
    February 11, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting opens
    February 12, 2016
  • AMPAS: Scientific and Technical Awards
    February 13, 2016
  • WGA: 68th Annual Writers Guild Awards - Hyatt Regency Century Plaza
    February 13, 2016
  • BAFTA: British Academy Film Awards - Royal Opera House, London
    February 14, 2016
  • 28th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award
    February 20, 2016

Berlin 2012: Turkish Film 'Night of Silence' Wins Berlin Crystal Bear

"Still Night of Silence"
"Still Night of Silence"
 Berlinale Film Festival

The drama centering on a traditional arranged marriage takes the top prize of Berlin's Generation 14plus section.

BERLIN — The Turkish film Night of Silence from director Reis Celik has won the Crystal Bear for best film screening in the Berlin Film Festival's Generation 14plus sidebar.

The drama focuses on an arranged marriage between a 14-year-old bride and a man recently released from prison after serving a sentence for two honor killings. Celik's film takes place within the single room where the couple meet on their wedding night.

"We were deeply touched by the brilliant actors in this year's winning film," said the Generations youth jury announcing their decision Friday. "They let us take part in the feelings of two people who are imprisoned by family traditions which do not leave any space for their own decision making and needs."

The Generations jury gave special mention to the Swedish drama The Crown Jewels from director Ella Lemhagen. The magic realist thriller stars Alicia Vikander and Bill Skarsgard.

In the short-film categories, Meathead from New Zealand director Sam Holst won the Crystal Bear for best short, and 663114 from Japanese helmer Isamu Hirabayashi received a special mention.

The winners were honored at a ceremony in Berlin Friday night.

comments powered by Disqus