Awards Calendar

  • HFPA: Deadline for nomination ballots to be mailed to all HFPA members by Ernst & Young
    November 25, 2015
  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015

Oscars: Poland Nominates Andrzej Wajda's 'Walesa' in Foreign-Language Category

UPDATED: The historic biography stars Robert Wieckiewicz as the legendary Solidarity leader Lech Walesa.

Poland has picked the historic biopic Walesa: Man of Hope from four-time Academy Award nominee Andrzej Wajda as its candidate for the best foreign-language Oscar.

The film stars stars Robert Wieckiewicz as legendary organizer Lech Walesa, who rose from humble beginnings as an electrician in the shipyards of Gdansk to become the leader of the Solidarity movement and, following the collapse of communism, president of Poland and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Wajda is certainly no stranger to the Academy. Four of his films have been nominated for the best foreign-language prize: The Promised Land in 1975, The Maids of Wilko in 1979, Man of Iron in 1986 and, in 2007, the historic war drama Katyn. But the tireless 87-year-old has only won one Oscar, an honorary statuette for his life's work in 2000.

Walesa: Man of Hope premiered in Venice and Toronto and will open Sept. 21 in Poland.

Poland has been nominated nine times in the foreign-language category, most recently for Agnieszka Holland's In Darkness, but has never won.

The nominees for best-foreign language film will be announced Jan. 16 and the winner at the Oscar ceremony March 2.

comments powered by Disqus