Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

PGA Reveals Mentors for Short Film Competition

Bruce Cohen
Bruce Cohen
 John Shearer/Getty Images

Bruce Cohen, Gale Anne Hurd and Peter Saraf will work with aspiring producers for the Make Your Mark contest.

The Producers Guild of America and Cadillac have announced the mentors for Make Your Mark, a short film competition open to producers across the country.

A portion of the winning short film and the winning producer's name will be featured in Cadillac's 30-second spot that will air on ABC during the Oscars on Sunday, Feb. 22.

Bruce Cohen, Gale Anne Hurd and Peter Saraf will serve as the mentors. Once the three finalists of the competition are chosen, each will be paired with one of the mentors, who will then help the aspiring producers through the production of their short films to completion, showing them the ins and the outs of the industry, providing creative counsel and perfecting the final product.

The competition honors the work of Oscar-winning filmmaker Saul Zaentz (The English Patient, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest), who died earlier this year.

Judges for the competition include Kathy Bates, Danny DeVito, Michael Douglas, Hawk Koch, Gary Lucchesi, Lori McCreary and Chris Moore.

Entries can be submitted through June 25, and the winner will be announced Jan. 24 at the 2015 Producers Guild Awards..

The competition is presented by the Producers Guild of America and Cadillac through the Producers Guild of America Foundation. For more information, watch the video below or visit

comments powered by Disqus