Quincy Jones, Pharrell Williams Honored; EMI Wins Big at ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards

Courtesy ASCAP

The night also featured a swan-song moment for "Big" Jon Platt as the outgoing EMI Music Publishing president accepted the Publisher of the Year award -- the company's 20th in 25 years.

Quincy Jones took home the ASCAP Founders Award, Pharrell Williams was honored with the Golden Note Award, and EMI Music Publishing again took home the publisher of the year honor at Friday (June 29) night's 25th anniversary ASCAP Rhythm and Soul Awards.

Maybach Music Group's Meek Mill performed, as did DJ Don Cannon and gospel singer James Fortune before a crowd that included actor Sidney Poitier, singer Jordin Sparks, comedian Wayne Brady, and producers Hit-Boy and NO ID, among many others.

Top song honors were handed out for Hip-Hop/R&B Song ("Sure Thing" by Miguel, written by Happy Perez and Miguel Pimentel), Rap Song ("Look At Me Now" by Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Busta Rhymes, written by Jean-Baptiste Kouame II and Wesley Pentz) and Gospel Song ("I Smile" by Kirk Franklin, written by Jimmy Jam Harris and Terry Steven Lewis), while Noah "40" Shebib -- who penned a number of Drake songs -- took home the prestigious Songwriter of the Year award.

STORY: Sold! EMI Music Publishing to Consortium Led by Sony/ATV, Michael Jackson Estate for $2.2 Billion

Marsha Ambrosius and Tyrese performed a tribute to Quincy Jones, before the super producer was co-presented with the Founders Award by ASCAP president/chairman Paul Williams and Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds.

EMI Music Publishing won its award for the 18th year running, and 20th out of 25 years, a remarkable accomplishment, though the award was put in perspective as "Big" Jon Platt, the North American creative president for EMI Music Publishing who was on hand to accept the honor, announced earlier this week he would be leaving EMI after 17 years. EMI had 18 songs honored at the awards, including tracks by Kanye West, Beyonce, and Wiz Khalifa.

See the complete list of ASCAP Rhythm and Soul Award winners after the jump.

comments powered by Disqus