Quvenzhane Wallis, Oprah Winfrey Among Essence Black Women in Hollywood Honorees

 Getty Images

Oscar nominee Quvenzhane Wallis, the 9-year-old star of Sundance breakout Beasts of the Southern Wild, is continuing to see her star rise and will be honored at the upcoming Essence Black Women in Hollywood luncheon.

The sixth annual event, set for Feb. 21 at the Beverly Hills Hotel, also will fete Oprah Winfrey with the Power Award, Alfre Woodard with the Vanguard Award, Gabrielle Union with the Fierce & Fearless Award, Mara Brock-Akil with the Visionary Award and Naomie Harris with the Lincoln Shining Star Award.

PHOTOS: Academy Awards 2013: The Nominees 

“The Essence Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon recognizes the ‘Power of Our Presence’ by spotlighting the stellar accomplishments of African-American female performers and creators in film and television,” said Essence editor in chief Constance C.R. White. “More importantly, the annual luncheon serves as a source of support and inspiration for the incredibly talented community of black women who are often overlooked in Hollywood.”

The mid-awards-season event coincides with Essence magazine’s annual Hollywood issue, which hits newsstands Feb. 8. Fans can live-stream red-carpet interviews from the luncheon beginning at 11:30 a.m. PST/2:30 p.m. EST and re-airing at 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST.

Previous honorees include Octavia Spencer, Halle Berry, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Tarji P. Henson, Viola Davis, Cicely Tyson, Angela Bassett, Ruby Dee and Suzanne de Passe.

comments powered by Disqus