Radio Disney Announces New Morning Show, Programming Shifts

From left: Morgan Tompkins, Carly Rae Jepsen and Maddie Whitby
From left: Morgan Tompkins, Carly Rae Jepsen and Maddie Whitby
 Radio Disney

Radio Disney has launched a new morning show as it revamps its programming lineup.

Morgan & Maddy in the Morning, with hosts Morgan Tompkins and Maddy Whitby, takes over the 6 a.m.-12 p.m. ET/3-9 a.m. PT slot previously held by Blake Kuhre for six years, The Hollywood Reporter has learned. Tompkins and Whitby, who already co-host a weekly Saturday night show will continue with Move It Party.

Radio host Candice moves from evenings to afternoons with the 4-8 p.m. ET/1-5 p.m. PT block, and continues to feature programs like "Celebrity Take" with Jake Whetter and "Planet Premiere," with interviews conducted by Kuhre.

Kuhre shifts from mornings to evenings with Up Late With ... Blake (8 p.m.-1 a.m. ET/5-10 p.m. PT), which includes the popular "Dot Com Top 3" list. Ernest "Ernie D" Martinez, the network's creative director of programming, hosts mid-days (1-4 p.m. ET/10 a.m.-1 p.m. PT).

The changes went into effect April 1 with a soft launch.

"Morgan and Maddy have embodied the fun and youthful energy of Radio Disney during their weekend dance show and we're thrilled to introduce this dynamic duo to our morning listeners as well," said Phil Guerini, vp and general manager of Radio Disney. "We are also confident that changes to peak listening times for families will further engage our audience across the nation."

The full weekday lineup, including weekend programs below:

"Morgan & Maddy in the Morning"
Weekdays (6:00 a.m., ET/3:00 a.m., PT - 12:00 p.m., ET/9:00 a.m., PT)
On-air personalities: Morgan and Maddy
 
Radio Disney Junior
Weekdays (12:00 p.m., ET/9:00 a.m., PT - 1:00 p.m., ET/10:00 a.m., PT)
On-air personalities: Hallie
 
Mid-days
Weekdays (1:00 p.m., ET/10:00 a.m., PT - 4:00 p.m., ET/1:00 p.m., PT)
On-air personality: "Ernie D"
 
Afternoons
Weekdays (4:00 p.m., ET/1:00 p.m., PT - 8:00 p.m., ET/5:00 p.m., PT)
On-air personality: Candice
 
Evenings
Weekdays (8:00 p.m., ET/5:00 p.m., PT - 1:00 a.m., ET/10:00 p.m., PT)
On-air personality: Blake
 
Weekend Highlights
 
"Top 30"
Saturdays (10:00 a.m., ET/7:00 p.m., PT - 1:00 p.m., ET/10:00 a.m., PT)
Sundays (5:00 p.m., ET/2:00 p.m., PT - 8:00 p.m., ET/5:00 p.m., PT)
On-air personality: Jake
 
"Move It Party"
Saturdays (9:00 p.m., ET/6:00 p.m., PT - 11:00 p.m., ET/8:00 p.m., PT)
On-air personalities: Morgan and Maddy
 
"Music Mailbag"
Saturdays (7:00 p.m., ET/4:00 p.m. PT)
On-air personality: Blake

Radio Disney is a 24-hour radio network targeting kids, tweens and families.

E-mail: Philiana.Ng@thr.com
Twitter: @insidethetube

comments powered by Disqus