Rights Available! 3 Hot New Books With Hollywood Appeal

'Where They Found Her'

Stephen Rowley's 'Lily and the Octopus' is among three new titles that have lots of buzz.

This story first appeared in the May 1 issue of The Hollywood Reporter magazine. To receive the magazine, click here to subscribe.

What books and manuscripts are making the rounds in Hollywood right now? Here's a quick rundown on three new and upcoming books that are getting attention in town. 

Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight
Agents: Marly Rusoff, Shari Smiley (Gotham)

A journalist mourning the loss of her baby investigates the discovery of a newborn's corpse in Ridgedale, N.J.

The Vapors by David Hill
Agent: Jason Richman (UTA)

Pitched as Devil in the White City meets Boardwalk Empire, this true story of the unsolved 1963 bombing of an Arkansas nightclub is written by the grandson of one of its former waitresses.

Lily and the Octopus by Stephen Rowley
Agents: Rob Weisbach, Matthew Snyder (CAA)

In the vein of Life of Pi and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this novel nabbed a high-six-figure advance and rapturous buzz.

comments powered by Disqus