Awards Calendar

  • AMPAS: Oscar Nominees Luncheon
    February 8, 2016
  • BAFTA: Round Two voting closes
    February 10, 2016
  • 11th Annual Final Draft Awards
    February 11, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting opens
    February 12, 2016
  • AMPAS: Scientific and Technical Awards
    February 13, 2016
  • WGA: 68th Annual Writers Guild Awards - Hyatt Regency Century Plaza
    February 13, 2016
  • BAFTA: British Academy Film Awards - Royal Opera House, London
    February 14, 2016
  • 28th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award
    February 20, 2016
  • AMPAS: Final voting closes
    February 23, 2016
  • AMPAS: 88th Academy Awards - Dolby Theatre
    February 28, 2016

Satellite Awards: '12 Years a Slave' Leads Film Nominees

"12 Years a Slave"
"12 Years a Slave"

The International Press Academy, which will hand out its awards March 9, also bestowed multiple nominations on "American Hustle," "Gravity," "Rush," "Inside Llewyn Davis" and "Saving Mr. Banks."

12 Years a Slave leads the list of film nominations for the 18th annual Satellite Awards, announced Monday by the International Press Academy, an association of entertainment journalists.

Slave scored 10 noms, followed by American Hustle and Gravity, both with eight, Rush with seven, and Inside Llewyn Davis and Saving Mr. Banks, both with six.

PHOTOS: '12 Years a Slave': Exclusive Portraits of Star-Producer Brad Pitt and His Cast

The group’s nominations cover 38 categories, including 19 for motion pictures, 13 for television, two for Blu-ray/DVD and four for video games. Breaking Bad, House of Cards and Orange Is the New Black topped the list of TV nominees, with four nominations each.

The Satellite Awards ceremony will be held March 9 in Los Angeles.

The nominees for best motion picture consist of Slave, All Is Lost, Hustle, Blue Jasmine, Captain Phillips, Gravity, Davis, Philomena, Banks and The Wolf of Wall Street.

In the top acting categories, which include eight nominations each, best actress noms were bestowed on Amy Adams (Hustle), Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine), Sandra Bullock (Gravity), Judi Dench (Philomena), Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Enough Said), Meryl Streep (August: Osage County) and Emma Thompson (Banks), while best actor noms were handed out to Christian Bale (Hustle), Bruce Dern (Nebraska), Leonardo DiCaprio (Wolf), Chiwetel Ejiofor (Slave), Tom Hanks (Phillips), Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club), Robert Redford (Lost) and Forest Whitaker (Lee Daniels’ The Butler).

Director noms went to Jasmine’s Woody Allen, DavisEthan and Joel Coen, Gravity’s Alfonso Cuaron, PhillipsPaul Greengrass, Slave’s Steve McQueen, Hustle’s David O. Russell and Wolf’s Martin Scorsese.

The group also announced a number of special achievement awards: Director Ryan Coogler will receive an Honorary Satellite Award for Fruitvale Station; that movie’s Michael B. Jordan and The Book Thief’s Sophie Nelisse will receive breakthrough performance awards; Nebraska was singled out as best ensemble, motion picture; and Orange Is the New Black was cited as best ensemble, television.

A complete list of nominations can be found at

comments powered by Disqus