'The Social Network' Wins USC Scripter Award

"The Social Network"
"The Social Network"

The Social Network writer Aaron Sorkin and author Ben Mezrich, who wrote the book the Oscar-nominated movie is based on, won the 23rd annual USC Libraries Scripter Award.

The Scripters, which recognize the author and scribes of a produced literary work-to-film adaptation, were held at a gala ceremony Friday night at USC.

The Social Network team (Sorkin wrote the script based on Mezrich’s book titled The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook, A Tale of Sex, Money, Genius, and Betrayal) beat out the writers of 127 Hours, (director-writers Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy as well as author Aron Ralston), The Ghost Writer (filmmaker Roman Polanski and author-journalist Robert Harris), True Grit (Joel and Ethan Coen and author Charles Portis) and Winter’s Bone (director-writers Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini plus author Daniel Woodrell).

comments powered by Disqus