Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

The Artist Wins Best Picture at Inaugural Aussie Film Awards

 The Weinstein Co.

The AACTA International Awards gave away their first ever film awards in five categories on Friday night.

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts has newly launched its first ever AACTA International Awards, holding them in Hollywood no doubt because all of the nominees are more likely to be here this time of year, and attend. However, they will be shown at the Inaugural Samsung AACTA Awards at the Sydney Opera House on January 31, broadcast throughout Australia at 9:30 AEST that evening.

The Artist, no surprise, took Best Picture, in a category with 7 other films, which included Moneyball, The Descendants, The Ides of March, Margin Call, Midnight in Paris, Melancholia and We Need to Talk About Kevin.

PHOTOS: Academy Awards 2012: The Nominees

Best Director went to The Artist's Michel Hazanavicius, in a category that included Martin Scorsese, Woody Allen and Terrence Malick. The AACTA International Award for Best Actor was given to Jean DuJardin, in what appears to be his first win over George Clooney. (Leonardo DiCaprio, Michael Fassbender, Ryan Gosling and Brad Pitt were also nominated).

And the AACTA International Award for Best Actress went to Meryl Streep, over Kirsten Dunst, Tilda Swinton, Glenn Close, Mia Wasakowska and Michelle Williams.


comments powered by Disqus