TNT, TBS renew SAG Awards contract

Empty

Turner Broadcasting System networks TNT and TBS have renewed their contract with SAG to continue airing the Screen Actors Guild Awards.

The 14th annual SAG Awards are set to be simulcast live from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center on both networks at 8 p.m. ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT and 6 p.m. MT on Jan. 27.

TNT has been home to the awards show since 1998, while TBS began its simulcast in 2006. The simulcast of this year's 13th annual SAG Awards averaged more than 5.8 million viewers, making it the ceremony's most-watched telecast since it moved to cable in 1998.

"Since the SAG Awards honors both dramatic and comedic performances, TNT, television's first network for drama, and TBS, television's premier network for comedy, have proven to be ideal companions to present this exciting annual event," Turner Entertainment Networks Steve Koonin said. "The appeal of the Screen Actors Guild Awards to both drama fans and comedy lovers is reflected in the SAG Awards' steady ratings growth and has allowed to us to utilize the brands of both networks to market the presentation in ways that speak to both audiences."

Added SAG national executive director Doug Allen: "Turner's efforts over the last 10 years have contributed to the tremendous popularity of our celebration of acting excellence. Turner's recognition of the SAG Awards' unique place in the industry and its wide appeal to the global home audience has helped make the SAG Awards one of the most important events of the awards season."

Submissions for nominations consideration for the 14th Annual SAG Awards will open July 16, and nominations will be announced Dec. 20 and will be carried live on TNT, TNT.tv and TBS.com.
comments powered by Disqus