The WGA Sets Out Its Awards Season Timeline

12:45 PM PST 07/19/2012 by Gregg Kilday

Feature film nominations will be announced on Jan. 3 and the WGA Awards will take place Feb. 17.

The Writers Guild of America, which will hold its 2013 Writers Guild Awards on Feb. 17 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York, has issued its timetable for the upcoming awards season. Key dates for the awards that are handed out by the WGA, West and WGA, East include the announcement of TV nominees on Dec. 6 and film and documentary nominees on Jan. 3. The annual Beyond Words screenwriters panel will take place at the WGA Theater in Beverly Hills on Feb. 7. 

The full timetable follows:

2012-2013 WGA MEDIA TIMELINE

 

TV Eligibility Period:

Long Form, Episodic, Animation, and Children’s script categories:

First broadcast between Dec 1, 2011 and Nov 30, 2012

All other script categories:

First broadcast between Oct 1, 2011 and Sep 30, 2012

 

Screen Eligibility Period:

Exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles for one week during 2012

Documentary Screenplays:

Exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week during 2012

 

Videogame Eligibility Period:

Originally released between Dec 1, 2011 and Nov 30, 2012

New Media Eligibility Period:

First exhibited on a new media platform between Dec 1, 2011 and Nov 30, 2012

 

2012

OCTOBER

Fri. Oct 12: Deadline for submissions: TV-Radio and Paul Selvin Award scripts

Fri. Oct 12: Deadline for submissions: Drama, Comedy, and New TV Series

Tues. Oct 23: Preliminary TV Series online voting begins

NOVEMBER 

Fri. Nov 16: Deadline for submissions: Theatrical and Documentary Screenplays

Fri. Nov 16: Deadline for submissions: New Media Writing

Tues. Nov 27: Deadline for Preliminary TV Series online voting

Fri. Nov 30: Deadline for submissions: Videogame Writing

DECEMBER

Tues. Dec 4: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins

Thurs. Dec 6: Television, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation nominees announced

Mon. Dec 31: Theatrical eligibility period ends (Original, Adapted, and Documentary Screenplays)

 

2013

JANUARY

Wed. Jan 2: Deadline for Preliminary Screenplay online voting

Thurs. Jan 3: Theatrical and Documentary Screenplay nominees announced

Fri. Jan 4: Final Screenplay and TV Series online voting begins

Tues. Jan 8: The Contenders: Writers Guild Award-nominated films screening series

 

Fri. Jan 18: Writers Guild Theater, Beverly Hills

Wed. Jan 16New Media and Videogame Writing nominees announced

Fri. Jan 25: Deadline for Final Screenplay and TV Series online voting

FEBRUARY

Thurs. Feb 7: Beyond Words: Writers Guild Award-nominated screenwriters panel. Writers Guild Theater, Beverly Hills

Mon. Feb 11: Deadline for reservations and ticket sales for 2013 WGA L.A. ceremony

Sun. Feb 172013 WRITERS GUILD AWARDS (65thAnnual)

Los Angeles:   JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

New York:       B.B. King Blues Club

 

comments powered by Disqus