Awards Calendar

  • ASIFA: Deadline to renew or join ASIFA-Hollywood to be able to participate in the Annie Award voting
    November 30, 2015
  • VES: Submission Deadline
    November 30, 2015
  • ASIFA: Annie Award Nominations announced
    December 1, 2015
  • WGA: Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
    December 1, 2015
  • DGA: Online voting for Feature Film Nominations opens
    December 2, 2015
  • HFPA: Final screening date for Motion Pictures
    December 2, 2015
  • WGA: Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced
    December 3, 2015
  • HFPA: Final date for Motion Picture press conference
    December 5, 2015
  • AFI: Honorees Announced
    December 7, 2015
  • HFPA: Deadline for receipt of nomination ballots by Ernst & YoungNom
    December 7, 2015

WGA East to Honor 1010 WINS' Philip V. Pilato

The longtime editor and service aide for the New York news radio station will be recognized at the guild's 2014 awards ceremony on Feb. 1.

Longtime 1010 WINS editor and service aide Philip V. Pilato will be honored with the Richard B. Jablow Award at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards during its East Coast ceremony on Feb. 1.

Pilato, who was diagnosed with stage two breast cancer in 2009, has remained a dedicated member of the Writers Guild and currently serves on its executive council. The award, which recognizes dedicated service to the guild, was created in honor of Richard B. Jablow, who helped found the WGAE, authored its constitution and served as its first counsel.

"Not only is Phil Pilato a skilled news writer and editor, he has devoted an enormous amount of his scarce free time working tirelessly on behalf of his colleagues as a valued member of the Writers Guild East Council and the Guild's executive committee," WGAE president Michael Winship said in a statement. "His name will be a distinguished addition to the roster of Jablow Award recipients."

Pilato will be presented with the award by last year's recipient, WGAE secretary-treasurer Bob Schneider.

The Writers Guild Awards will be held simultaneously in New York and Los Angeles on Feb. 1. The New York ceremony, which will also honor Focus Features co-founder James Schamus and The Wire creator David Simon, will be hosted by W. Kamau Bell.

comments powered by Disqus