'Mad Max: Fury Road,' 'The Revenant' Among ASC Nominees for Cinematography

Mad Max: Fury Road Still - H 2015
Jasin Boland/Warner Bros.

Mad Max: Fury Road Still - H 2015

The American Society of Cinematographers has announced its nominees in the theatrical release category for the 30th ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement: Roger Deakins for Sicario, Ed Lachman for Carol, Janusz Kaminski for Bridge of Spies, Emmanuel Lubezki for The Revenant and John Seale for Mad Max: Fury Road. The awards ceremony will be held Feb. 14 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Potential Oscar contenders such as The Hateful Eight and The Martian didn't make the final five.

Lubezki has won the cinematography Oscar and ASC feature category the past two years for Gravity and Birdman. With last year's nod, he tied legendary cinematographer Conrad L. Hall's record of four ASC Awards in the feature category. A win this year would make him the only lenser to receive five in that category, and also the only cinematographer to win it three consecutive times.

This season, the majority of the critics awards in cinematography have gone to Lachman or Seale. Honors for Lachman's work on period drama Carol have included the Golden Frog at Camerimage. Seale — the Oscar-winning director of photography for The English Patient — will receive the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards trophy this weekend for his work on George Miller's post-apocalyptic Fury Road.

Drug-cartel thriller Sicario is 12-time Oscar nominee Deakins’ 14th ASC nomination. He previously earned three ASC feature awards for Skyfall, The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn’t There.

Kaminski, a longtime collaborator of Steven Spielberg's, won Oscars for Saving Private Ryan and Schindler’s List.