A Guide to the Cinema Audio Society Awards

La La Land and Hacksaw Ridge - Publicity-H 2017
Courtesy of Lionsgate; Summit Entertainment

The Cinema Audio Society will host its 53rd annual CAS Awards for outstanding achievement in sound mixing on Saturday at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel. Here’s your guide to the evening:

In six of the last 10 years, the winner of the CAS Award in the live-action feature category went on to win the Oscar in sound mixing.

This year in the live-action feature category, CAS nominated the sound mixing teams behind Doctor Strange, Hacksaw Ridge, La La Land, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and Sully.

Hacksaw Ridge and La La Land are also nominated for the Oscar in sound mixing, along with the teams behind Arrival, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi.

CAS- and Oscar-nominated rerecording mixers Andy Nelson (La La Land) and Kevin O’Connell (Hacksaw Ridge) have each received 21 Oscar nominations, the most in the sound mixing category.

Nelson has won the Oscar twice, for Saving Private Ryan and Les Miserables. O’Connell has the bittersweet distinction of the most sound mixing noms without a win.

CAS and Oscar nominees Ai-Ling Lee (La La Land), Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright (both of Hacksaw Ridge) are double Oscar nominees, in both the sound mixing and sound editing categories.

In sound editing, Lee and fellow nominee Mildred Iatrou Morgan hold the distinction of being the first all-women team nominated for sound editing. (The Oscar nominees in sound editing also include Arrival, Deepwater Horizon and Sully.)

The CAS nominees in the animated feature competition are the teams behind Finding Dory, Kubo and the Two Strings, Moana, The Secret Life of Pets and Zootopia.

Among the individual names to watch in this category are Foley mixer Scott Curtis, who is nominated for Finding Dory, Moana and Zootopia — and is additionally nominated in the live-action feature category for Doctor Strange. Paul McGrath, David E. Fluhr and Gabriel Guy are nominated for both Moana and Zootopia. And Doc Kane (last year’s CAS Career Achievement Award honoree) is nominated for Finding Dory as well as for Doctor Strange in the live-action feature category. Other multiple CAS nominees include James Ashwill, Foley mixer on La La Land and Sully. The complete list of nominees in all seven feature and TV categories (with nominees including Game of Thrones, Stranger Things and Deadliest Catch) can be found here.

During the ceremony, Jon Faveau will be given the Filmmaker Award and production mixer John Pritchett  an Oscar nominee for Memoirs of a Geisha and Road to Perdition  will receive the Career Achievement Award.

Seth MacFarlane will present the award to Favreau, and Jack Black will give the award to Pritchett. Elayne Boosler will host the ceremony; additional presenters include Nancy Cartwright, Robert Forster and Clyde Kusatsu.