A Guide to This Year's ACE Eddie Awards

The Big Short Still 2 - H 2015

American Cinema Editors' 66th annual ACE Eddie Awards will be presented Friday at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. Here's some things to know about this year's ceremony.

The top categories are best edited dramatic feature and best edited comedy.

For best edited dramatic feature, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, edited by Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey, is nominated alongside Mad Max: Fury Road, edited by Margaret Sixel; The Martian, Pietro Scalia; The Revenant, Stephen Mirrione; and Sicario, Joe Walker.

In the category for best edited film, comedy, the nominees are Ant-Man, Dan Lebental and Colby Parker, Jr.; The Big Short, Hank Corwin; Joy, Jay Cassidy, Alan Baumgarten,? Christopher Tellefsen and Tom Cross; Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, David Trachtenberg; and Trainwreck, William Kerr and Paul Zucker.

Four of the five Oscar nominees for film editing are also nominated for an Eddie.

They are Mad Max, The Revenant and The Force Awakens, from the dramatic film category; and The Big Short, from the comedy category. The fifth Oscar nominee is Tom McArdle for Spotlight.

In nine of the past 12 years, the winner of the Eddie for best edited dramatic feature has gone on to win the Oscar for film editing. In 2003, that Oscar was awarded to the winner of the Eddie for best edited feature, comedy or musical (the former category name), Chicago.

Several Eddie nominees are previous Oscar winners.

Among the nominees in the dramatic film category, The Martian's Scalia previously won Oscars for Black Hawk Down and JFK and The Revenant's Mirrione took home an Oscar for Traffic, while Sicario's Walker was nominated for 12 Years a Slave. All four editors of Joy have previously been nominated for Oscars, with Cross winning last year for Whiplash.

The film that has won in the category of best edited animated feature has gone on to win the best animated feature Oscar every year since this Eddies category was introduced in 2010.

This year, the nominees are Inside Out, whose editor Kevin Nolting won the first Eddie in this category, for Up; The Good Dinosaur, whose editor Stephen Schaffer previously won an Eddie for WALL-E in the comedy or musical feature category (before the animated feature category existed); and Anomalisa, edited by Garret Elkins.

Presenters include The Force Awakens director J.J. Abrams and The Big Short helmer Adam McKay.

Jennifer Jason Leigh, Mindy Kaling, Vince Gilligan and Steve Martin are among the additional presenters.

Three special awards will be bestowed during the evening.

Nancy Meyers will receive the Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award, and Carol Littleton and Ted Rich will receive Career Achievement honors.